SNA Frontpage
-Thematic MapsSNA Map of Sweden at a scale of 1:700,000Facts about Counties and Municipalities

Other maps: To bottom of page

Municipal divisions, 2000

Map of Municipal divisions, 2000


289 Municipalities
The municipal divisions are based on a medieval division of parishes. In 1866 Sweden passed its first municipal law; the parishes were divided up between a civil municipality and an ecclesiastical parish. The towns were affected more marginally by this reform. Since then two major municipal reforms have been carried out. In 1952 the number of municipalities was reduced from about 2,500 to 1,037; the second reform took place in 1974 and resulted in 278 large municipalities. Since then a few municipalities have been divided. In 2000 Sweden had 289 municipalities. Kiruna in Norrbotten is the largest municipality in area (19,447km2) and Sundbyberg in Stockholm County the smallest. As for population, Stockholm takes first place with 743,700 inhabitants, while Bjurholm is the smallest municipality with just over 2,700 inhabitants. Arjeplog is the least densely populated municipality with 0.27 inhabitants/km2, while Stockholm with almost 4,000 inhabitants/km2 is the most densely populated one.

Source: Statistics Sweden
Based on the printed version of The National Atlas of Sweden:
Book : The EUGEO selection (about the book)
Chapter: 1 The State and the Country
Section: 1.3 Political and Administrative systems

Choose another theme (set of maps):

Search among the map titles:

Select other maps on
The EUGEO selection (60 maps)

Read more about SNA or send email to
Dynamically created 2014-04-24 using template updated 2003-04-07.